Mwajirani leads Team CZ ‘A’ to Mashujaa Title

Posted on Wed, 25 Oct 2017

Source: The Star, Kenya

Team CZ (ÄŒeská Zbrojovka) ‘A’ are the 2017 Mashujaa Day Team Shoot trophy winners after beating six other lineups at the National Gun Owners Association of Kenya Shooting Range in Kirigiti, Kiambu County.

The outfit, captained by expert Shuruti Mwajirani ran away with the trophy after carding 172.29 points in the 76 shooter-field.

The heavy rains experienced on Saturday created no dull moment as the shooters braved the downpour all day, testing their skills to the limit. Team CZ ‘A’, in a fine display of skill and mastery of the Czech Republic-made pistols, beat all the other teams in proficiency and strategy in the falling plates and courses of fire.

The shoot was unique as it put shooters in teams according to their classification and type of weapon they carry. Each squad comprised of 10 riflemen. The shoot comprised of six course of fire (COF) in which three were for the individual category and three for the team category.

Glock and CZ drew the largest number of participants of 30 apiece (three teams each), while Jericho and Sig Sauer registered six and four respectively to form one team for the shoot dubbed ‘The Battle of the Guns.’

CZ ‘A’ drew Mwajirani, Eric Wachira, NGAO-Kenya president Anthony Wahome, Arfan Kherdin, Geoffrey Pesa, Emmanuel Fresco, Wilson Masharia, Sayed Maqbool and Dafton Mwatiki.

Team Glock ‘A’ came a distant second with 206.91 points as Sig Sauer/Jericho settled for third with 227.99.

In the individual ratings, veterans sharpshooter Wilson Macharia stunned all when he scooped the overall title with 57.87, consigning Mwajirani and Sunny Syan to the second and third places with 58.27 and 59.30 correspondingly.

Inspector of Prisons Elizabeth Wachianga took the pole position in the ladies’ category, downing 99.41. Edna Munga was second with 114.93 ahead of Elizabeth Cherono, who had 116.48 points.

Mwajirani led the Expert category as Frank Ambundo (59.74) and Mohammed Omar (63.48) in second and third positions respectively. Sunny Syan and Dhruv Shah scored 59.3 and 60.46 to take first and second places in the Sharpshooter category.

Geoffrey Pesa topped the Marksman class with 60.15 to beat Arfan Kherdin (64.14) and Alykhan Keshavji (69.64) to second and third positions, whereas Dafton Mwitiki won the Novice category carding 87.50 points. He was closely followed by Maqbool and Wilson Mugambi who had 90.59 and 90.87 respectively. In the sponsors’ category, Thomas Sunday took the pole position as Engineer Oyach and Eunice Magiri completed the top three places.